Lake Houston Fishing!

The one stop Lake Houston Fishing resource!
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:32 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:11 am
Posts: 101
This weekend I saw this defined layer show up in the deeper water. It only showed up when I was over 13 ft and looked like it was consistent at the 12 ft mark. I was in the main lake, mostly south of the RR bridge. I noticed where the line started the fish stopped. The water is clear above it and shows up cloudy below it on the down scan. Just wondering if I'm seeing what I think I'm seeing.


Attachments:
thermo.jpg
thermo.jpg [ 366.74 KiB | Viewed 469 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:15 pm
Posts: 2625
Location: Clear Lake City
Yup.

_________________
Dutch
"Spider Man"

Custom tied crappie jigs $18/doz plus shipping.

"Retired fishing" is just being out in the boat whenever you want.... and getting a Dairy Queen on the way home


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 9:40 am
Posts: 7326
Location: N HOUSTON
That be's it and your 2D will show it also if you crank up the sensitivity on it....

_________________
FISH BITE WET HOOKS

ENJOY THE HUNT OR STAY HOME

REGARDLESS OF HOW MANLY YOU THINK YOU ARE WEARING A PFD CAN SAVE YOUR LIFE....

Check Out Some Good Crappie Vids Here....
https://www.youtube.com/user/fishingorhunting


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:11 am
Posts: 32
A good way to also determine the line is you can see where you mark all the fish. They will not go below thermocline do to lack of oxygen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:11 am
Posts: 101
Ken Walters wrote:
A good way to also determine the line is you can see where you mark all the fish. They will not go below thermocline do to lack of oxygen.


That was part of what made me think that's what it was. I use that split screen because I haven't learned to recognize fish with just the down scan. Having that 2D right next to it I can see structure on the DI and I can also see what's hiding in it, or at least what is holding in the outer edges of it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:37 pm
Posts: 31
Hope you don't mind me jumping into the thread you began, but I'm still getting used to my new unit and after changing a color setting BAM, now I'm seeing what I think is the thermocline. All the fish DID hold above it....until I passed over them. :mrgreen:

I even saw the thick line rise to the surface at the same time a thick line began to rise from the floor.

I'm pretty sure that's what it is, it just surprised me since I didn't see it on other settings.

Attachment:
IMG_20180814_011041.jpg
IMG_20180814_011041.jpg [ 1.18 MiB | Viewed 293 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_20180814_011049.jpg
IMG_20180814_011049.jpg [ 970.35 KiB | Viewed 293 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_20180814_011014.jpg
IMG_20180814_011014.jpg [ 45.9 KiB | Viewed 293 times ]

_________________
<°}}}=< BigFish!

"Life is shorter than we've been lead to believe. Soak it all up like a dry sponge!" 8)

"If I never win anything else in life, I smile knowing I came in first place in a race of billions!" :wink: :mrgreen:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:33 pm
Posts: 9388
what kind of unit you have EnjoynLifeInfinately i see 800khz
you do not have the unit set up right it is reading very poorly .


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:37 pm
Posts: 31
Thanks for the feedback, Mr. Sticko; and ELI is fine. :wink:

Well, I'm running a Lowrance (shout out to SK...I actually enjoy their menu. :mrgreen: )....Low range Hook 4 with DI. That's what you see on the 800khz. The sonar is set at 200 as opposed to the 83khz settings they had for deeper water.

I've only now got my transducer set up on the bow, yes, the bow of my kayak; with a cable retraction rigging for when I get in that 8 inch water. Its also very nifty for poking your nose beneath docks. :wink: (I love my kayak for a few reasons. Many of which should provide an advantage on these tourneys once I really sink my teeth into them.)

My last two trips on the water consisted of my tinkering with the sonar mount and retraction arm. Transducer is parallel to the water level, everything is even on all sides. I measured twice...and before cutting, measured two more times.

Due to the size of watercraft 10' semi V hull, turbulence can be an issue, usually on with major wake, but this reading is me just drifting on a breeze too soft to rattle a dandelion afro. :mrgreen: One of the best readings I've seen, however, do enlighten me. I'm greener than a new banana. I can use any input.

Thanks again, Mr. Sticko, and to any you whom have something to share.

_________________
<°}}}=< BigFish!

"Life is shorter than we've been lead to believe. Soak it all up like a dry sponge!" 8)

"If I never win anything else in life, I smile knowing I came in first place in a race of billions!" :wink: :mrgreen:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:11 am
Posts: 101
Eli, are you sure that your transducer is mounted so that it is level when you are in the boat and it is loaded. If it is off even a little the image will be compromised.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:33 pm
Posts: 9388
SK what did he just say ?

ELi is that something from the Bible.

Also that Lowrance is that a foreign object.

Oh i see now menu they have something to eat.

just kidding start with turning the sensitivity way down get rid of
that double echo as your unit says 16 feet you do not need a reading
below that but you are reading another bottom at 20 some feet
see of you can hit unclutter. I am not familiar with the lowrance menu.

best thing to do is get over a known structure like a fallen tree and set
over it and adjust sensitivity and contrast until a limb looks like a limb
or a rock looks like a rock.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 9:40 am
Posts: 7326
Location: N HOUSTON
He said billions and billions and billions and billions of jigs lost.....LOL
Eli I agree with Sticko, your sensitivity is too high on 2D and DI....
Also do you know how deep the water was when you snapped those pics?

_________________
FISH BITE WET HOOKS

ENJOY THE HUNT OR STAY HOME

REGARDLESS OF HOW MANLY YOU THINK YOU ARE WEARING A PFD CAN SAVE YOUR LIFE....

Check Out Some Good Crappie Vids Here....
https://www.youtube.com/user/fishingorhunting


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 9:11 am
Posts: 101
sticko wrote:
SK what did he just say ?

ELi is that something from the Bible.

Also that Lowrance is that a foreign object.

Oh i see now menu they have something to eat.

just kidding start with turning the sensitivity way down get rid of
that double echo as your unit says 16 feet you do not need a reading
below that but you are reading another bottom at 20 some feet
see of you can hit unclutter. I am not familiar with the lowrance menu.

best thing to do is get over a known structure like a fallen tree and set
over it and adjust sensitivity and contrast until a limb looks like a limb
or a rock looks like a rock.


Sound advice, sir. I actually think mine may be a bit on the high side as well


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:37 pm
Posts: 31
Thanks for the input, fellas. I'll check on the sensitivity, but at what was I looking? The orange bar?
Double echo, you say, Mr. Sticko,?

I see what you mean about the readouts of depths, however, if I go from 1' over a drop to 6', I'll see 7' or do on the side bar, but reading stays true. I have ten+ photos of me drifting and the orange bar gently rises even though depth never changed. If it did change, it was slightly and in no apparent correlation to one another. Just curious if it was thermocline.

Unless even the data I gathered from the first few outtings is irrelevant due to a bad mount. I'll know for sure tomorrow as I'll be on the water trying to convince fish that I have chilled box set up to help them escape the heat. :mrgreen:

Thanks again for the help!

Oh yeah, it was either this unit or the Garmin that boasted a very wide cone angle, allowing you to see a nice amount off to your side, is that why I see the red, yellow, and orange lining what appears to be the extent of my cone? :?:

_________________
<°}}}=< BigFish!

"Life is shorter than we've been lead to believe. Soak it all up like a dry sponge!" 8)

"If I never win anything else in life, I smile knowing I came in first place in a race of billions!" :wink: :mrgreen:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:33 pm
Posts: 9388
what i see from here is you have the sensitivity set so high
your transducer is sending out and signal so strong it is hitting
bottom coming up catching it and sending it back down and catching
it again thus the reading at 10 feet then again at 20 feet . giving you a
false bottom reading. what is your sensitivity setting . are you on factory default.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:37 pm
Posts: 31
Thanks again, Mr. Sticko. You seem to be a very helpful soul. I'm pretty sure it's still default settings but I will check again.

My unit does have chirp sonar, sending out 5 signals to come back to make one. I may have put the sensitivity up because I am so desperately eager to coax fish into my bucket that I want to see individual baby shad, and the direction they are facing. :shock: :D (and still learning about sonar; my first unit.)

I did read that different color settings on my unit will show varying degrees of structure. I ran this playback on a few settings, but only the orange and blue scale showed this.

I neither confirm nor deny that I will attend AND fish the upcoming One Pole tourney, but if I'm still having trouble by then, if appreciate any who help me get my stuff straight.

Thanks again!

_________________
<°}}}=< BigFish!

"Life is shorter than we've been lead to believe. Soak it all up like a dry sponge!" 8)

"If I never win anything else in life, I smile knowing I came in first place in a race of billions!" :wink: :mrgreen:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited